The Suffolk County Electrical Contractors Association started a “League,” in the 1940′s. Suffolk was then mainly comprised of farmland, and farmers performed much of their own work. Finding a good, reliable electrician was a task in and of itself. The only area then requiring a license was the Village of Patchogue.
A group of electricians wanted some “quality control,” and wished to expand their knowledge and understanding of the electrical trade. They formed a group and met at the “Old Polish Hall” in Patchogue, and met with the only inspection agency at the time, the New York Board of Fire Underwriters. Eventually, the group incorporated, grew and developed to today’s Association, comprised of Contractor and Associate members. However, their purpose remains largely unchanged: At our meetings, members avail themselves of the knowledge and experience of their peers, inspection agencies, and our power authority, as well as professionals associated with our trade. We encourage our members to observe and promote the hallmarks of Progress, Reliability, Safety and Integrity.